An evening of firsts

After dinner last night, I watched through the kitchen window as Charlie rode his bike with no training wheels for the first time. I admit I had to wipe away a few tears. Charlie has always been our sensitive kid, uneasy with change and unwilling to try anything unknown. For the past year he’s been riding a balance bike (Lillian’s, actually. She currently prefers the teeny-tiny “Mickey Train.”), and he would have happily continued with that all summer. But Jeff was just sure he could handle his own bike, sans training wheels. I knew that one fall in the learning process could be incredibly traumatic for Charlie, so I was nervous and skeptical. Which is why I couldn’t stop the tears of surprise and pride and joy as I watched Charlie pedal away from Jeff with no trouble at all. Way to go, Cboy!

Image

Image

A bit later a new neighbor came over with her five kids to introduce herself. After I told her my name, she asked, “And are you expecting?” This is the first time a stranger has commented on my expanding belly. The first of many.

Then we walked to the park. And for the first time, I watched Charlie as he got going pretty high in the swing and then jumped out onto the sand below. I couldn’t believe his confidence! He’s growing up, and this seems to be a magical season of turning points for him. Maybe this will be the summer he puts his head underwater in the pool?

4 responses to “An evening of firsts

  1. Sniffle. I’m tearing up too. He looks so BIG riding that bike. I was 6 too when I learned to ride a bike and remember that exact moment sailing away from my dad … Thanks for the sweet post.

    • Aww, thanks Kristi! That’s exactly what struck me last night — Charlie is now reaching milestones that I remember making as a kid, and even now, I can’t decide whether to laugh or cry about it! 🙂

  2. Josh was like that too! In fact, he did not begin to learn the bike until Jill was about to. He had to be first so he made himself learn.

  3. He looks so excited and independent! I remember learning to ride in the grass after the training wheels came off. It was a softer surface for falls. 🙂

Leave a Reply

