The Never-Changing

September 2004. Jeff and I had just moved to Vancouver to begin his studies at Regent College. We attended Regent’s fall retreat at Warm Beach in Washington State, and there I heard the contemporary hymn “In Christ Alone” for the first time. I loved the song immediately. I remember reflecting on the significance of standing in Christ’s love, especially in the midst of so many uncertainties.

What heights of love, what depths of peace
When fears are stilled, when strivings cease
My Comforter, my All in All
Here in the love of Christ I stand

March 2011. We sang this song in our church in small-town Kansas (while, interestingly, standing next to friends from Regent, who were visiting us for a few days!). I have sang this song a million times in the in-between, and I have loved it and been moved by it each time. But this past Sunday, it struck me anew: the significance of standing in Christ’s love, especially in the midst of so many uncertainties. I remembered standing among Jeff’s fellow students at the retreat, recognizing that I stand in Christ and that he is constant. And even now, I stand in Christ, and I recognize that he is constant. It was a moving experience connecting this song’s influence on my life during very different circumstances, and knowing that even with all the changes and transitions Jeff and I have been through since September 2004 — moving, having a baby, moving, changing jobs, moving, new friends, having a baby, moving, changing jobs, new friends… — I stand in the exact same love of Christ now as I did then. If that isn’t comfort and security, I don’t know what is.

Ephesians 5:2: “And walk in love, as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us.”

4 responses to “The Never-Changing

  1. Isn’t it interesting how the first time we hear a song has such an effect on us. And knowing it has touched you, it will mean more to me. Thanks for posting and including the verse as a reminder to walk in Christ’s love, knowing all that it means.

  2. I just love that song too. It never grows old. My favorite line is, “no power of Hell, no scheme of man can ever pluck me from His hand…” Thanks for sharing from your heart.

  3. What a great song choice by your worship pastor! It is encouraging to hear how the songs we sing in church impact the lives of people. Does my heart good. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a comment